Saturday, 28 September 2013

UEFA Champions League 2013-14

UEFA will organise Europe's premier club football tournament, 2013–14 UEFA Champions League which is the 59th season of this tournament.Also, this happens to be the 22nd season since it underwent a change in the name, from the European Champion Clubs' Cup to the UEFA Champions League.

The finals of 2014 UEFA Champions League Final will be played at the Estádio da Luz in Lisbon, Portugal. First time in the history, the teams who qualified for the group stage will also automatically qualify for the newly formed 2013–14 UEFA Youth League, a competition meant for players aged 19 or under.

Totally 76 teams from 52 of the 54 UEFA member associations will take part in the 2013–14 UEFA Champions League (the exceptions are Liechtenstein, as it does not conduct  a domestic league, and Gibraltar, which starts contesting in the 2014–15 season , having been admitted as a UEFA member in May 2013). The ranking of the association is based on the UEFA country coefficientsand used to fix the number of partaking teams for each association.

Tournament details:
2 July – 28 August 2013 (qualifying)
17 September 2013 – 24 May 2014 (competition proper)

Bayern Munich who won 2013-13 tournament, are the defending champions.The final (2013-13) was held at Wembley Stadium in London, England. Though Wembley had hosted the 2011 finals, the competition final was again played in Wembley, in view of its completion of 150 years since the establishment of the English Football Association which also, happens to be the world’s oldest foot ball association. This is the seventh instancethat Wembley Stadium hosted the Champions League final. Bayern Munich, which had ended the season as runner-up last year, defeated Bundesliga rival Borussia Dortmund by 2–1 in the 89th minute -the goalwas scored by Arjen Robben, in the final. This happens to be Bayern's tenth final, their first European Cup in twelve years, and their fifth, on the whole. This was the fourth final contested by the teams from the same league. The other three occasions are 2000, 2003, and 2008, and the first all-German final.